ISLAMABAD: assembly of a parliamentary committee on Tuesday ended in a deadlock as authorities and competition lawmakers did not reach consensus on nominations for provincial individuals of the polls supervisory frame, the Election fee of Pakistan (ECP).

The parliamentary committee meeting, chaired by means of Federal Minister for Human Rights Shireen Mazari, considered at overall of six names – three every proposed by way of the government and the chief of opposition Shehbaz Sharif. But, the balloting on names resulted in a deadlock.


3 nominations are despatched to the parliamentary committee after consensus among the prime minister and the chief of competition. If the PM and the leader of competition fail to attain consensus then both of them ship 3 names every to the committee.

The parliamentary committee with no less than -1/3 majority selects one name out of the six names. But, the constitution is silent as to what ought to be completed if impasse persists over the proposed names inside the parliamentary committee.

After the Tuesday meeting, Mazari informed the media that consensus over the names could not be reached. “prime Minister Imran Khan would be apprised of the minutes of the committee.”

Mazari stated the names forwarded by way of the PM and the competition chief can not be modified but the authorities modified one of the names on the request of the opposition.

She stated the names proposed via the opposition acquired six votes whilst the names proposed by the authorities obtained five votes plus her vote. But the competition did now not receive her vote.

“The job of the parliamentary committee regarding appointment of ECP participants is completed and the committee will now visit the Ministry of regulation,” she added.

The Pakistan Peoples party chief Khursheed Shah additionally spoke to media after the assembly and said the letter sent by means of the PM to the opposition chief on March eleven turned into received in the committee meeting.

“but the government did no longer send the names [proposed by the PM]. Alternatively the names sent by using overseas Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi were protected.”

He claimed that thanks to lack of solidarity in the government, the vintage names had been withdrawn and new names were forwarded. The opposition became of the view that session be hung on the old names rather than the new names.

“however, the authorities individuals blanketed within the committee refused to accept this demand. Balloting led to 6 votes for the opposition nominees and 5 votes for the government nominees,” he said, including that the authorities is complicating every problem.

He said for Balochistan, the names of Dr Salahuddin Mengal, Mehmood Raza Khan and Raja Amir Abbas got here below discussion while for Sindh the names of Azeem Qureshi, Justice Abdul Rasool Memon and Justices (Retd ) Nur-ul-Haq Qureshi have been considered.

“Sending nominations for the ECP provincial individuals is the proper of the high minister and if overseas Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi accepts his mistake then the competition may also withdraw it nominations,” he delivered.

He stated the parliament is the best forum that represents 200 million people. “A better choice concerning the country is predicted within the committee meeting however consensus has no longer been reached.”