AUCKLAND (AFP) - Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl within the one-off Twenty20 healthy towards New Zealand in Auckland Friday.

it's miles Sri Lanka’s ultimate chance to notch a win on their tour after losing all 3 one-day fits and finishing the two-test series with a loss and a draw.

"We’ll see what the bowlers can do after which the batsmen can chase it down," captain Lasith Malinga said after winning the toss.

Tim Southee, leading New Zealand at the same time as Kane Williamson is rested, stated he might additionally have bowled first however "it looks as if a terrific floor so hopefully we can make accurate use of it.

"it's been a remarkable begin to the season and with a bit of luck we are able to keep the momentum going."

Scott Kuggeleijn makes his debut for new Zealand and Mitchell Santner returns from an injury lay off at the same time as for Sri Lanka Danushka Gunathilaka is injured with Kusal Perera moving as much as opener.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee (capt), Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson

Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Lasith Malinga (capt), Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara