ABUJA: Nigeria have covered former Chelsea megastar John Obi Mikel of their  25-man provisional squad for next month’s Africa Cup of nations.

Midfielder Mikel, now with Middlesborough, closing performed for the us of a on the 2018 international Cup in Russia and overlooked the qualifying series for the 2019 Africa Cup.

Leicester metropolis’s Kelechi Iheanacho and Villarreal youngster Samuel Chukwueze are also inside the squad with the latter opting for the African tournament in place of the FIFA U20 international Cup in Poland.


coach Gernot Rohr and the squad will gather on June 2 to put together for a pre-event pleasant in opposition to Zimbabwe on June 8 before departing the next day for Egypt.

The tremendous Eagles can be based at their schooling camp in the city of Ismailia and tackle Africa’s primary-ranked crew Senegal in their very last pre-match pleasant June sixteen.

Nigeria are drawn in opposition to Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in organization B of the Africa Cup of nations, which kicks off on June 21.

25-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta/CYP), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United), Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs/RSA)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC/ITA), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC/TUR), Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor/TUR), William Ekong (Udinese FC/ITA), Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion/ENG), Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes/SPA), Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07/GER), Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United/ENG)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Middlesbrough FC/ENG), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester town/ENG), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke town/ENG), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva/ISR)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC/KSA), Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC/BEL), Moses Simon (Levante FC/ESP), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK/TUR), Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua/CHN), Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC/ENG), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux/FRA), Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland/DEN), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester city/ENG), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal/SPA)

On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC), Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow/RUS), Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC), Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal/POR), Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly/EGY), Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)